It is currently Sun Jun 09, 2024 10:34 am

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Is it engine or prop RPM that makes the boat go faster? 
MMT Pro Member

Post Is it engine or prop RPM that makes the boat go faster?
I am rather new to the mudmotor scene as a matter of fact i dont own one yet. This will be rectified soon. I have been thinking about and researching how these motors work and thought i would submit this question and reasoning to this forum since this is about engines and mods.
first
why is it that 2 stroke motors have been used in outboards for so long? its because of weight and sustained RPM. RPM is transfered from the power head to the prop via a shaft and to a gear box in the lower unit there it is reduced and sent to the prop.
second
4 stroke engines are mainly used to develope torque to turn higher gears that is why 2 stroke engines are not used in cars they are not designed to develope torque but RPM

Now where am i going with this? I have read alot about guys doing engine upgrades and carb kits and so forth that run into the thousands of dollars why not just build a bigger pulley for the engine onthe belt driven SD motors as this will translate into higher PROP RPMs this will not be a problem for the engine as it has plenty of torque to turn the prop.
if my thinking is incorrect please explain why.

Thanks

Tue Apr 07, 2009 5:57 am
MMT 1000 Club

Post Re: Is it engine or prop RPM that makes the boat go faster?