It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 11:31 am

Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 Fuel Solenoid issue (GX620)? 
MMT Member

Post Fuel Solenoid issue (GX620)?
I'm not a great mechanic. Let me just get that out there. My 20hp Honda (Go-devil, GX620), is giving me fits for the first time, sort of. This past season, I had an intermittent issue where the motor would just die off, but once I replaced the quick connect, motor behaved. Thought it was a fuel issue, so decided I'd do some maintenance (after the fact).

Went out today, motor was wet from some light rain. Started on first crank, then died. Now will not start at all. There is a constant "clicking" noise when I turn the key to "on". I'm all over the map, so tomorrow I'll check the plugs for spark, but if it's a fuel/solenoid/carb issue, I need some help.

How do I get to the carb on this motor? Can't really find a decent diagram online, and never done it on this type of honda. Figure I'll test/clean the solenoid first. Any idea what the constant clicking noise is? Is that the fuel pump? I've spent the last couple of hours reading posts here and elsewhere about this motor.

Thanks.

Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:21 pm
MMT 1000 Club

Post Re: Fuel Solenoid issue (GX620)?
I can tell you for a fact that clicking is the efuel pump, clean the carb real good and yes the solenoid is known to gum up. The shop manual is a different story, you can buy the PDF on cd BUT it is time dated and after it expires it locks you out. I have the gx670 and have been thinking of plugging the solenoid up with a brass pipe plug.

Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:40 pm
MMT Member

Thanks man. So I guess the clicking is normal. Do I need to remove the fan cover to get to the carb?

Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:50 pm
MMT Sponsor

pull the solenoid out, snip the plunger off then reinstall. thats what gd does.

Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:53 pm
Profile WWW
MMT Member