It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:47 am

Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
 Gator Trax wiring questions/ advice 
MMT Member

Post Gator Trax wiring questions/ advice
I'm going to re wire my boat prior to duck season, but want to make some minor modifications. Ill be converting to an aluminum fuel tank, custom. Which will create enough room for the extra battery for lights, accessories. I'm wondering if anyone has suggestions on wiring a gator trax/ other aluminum boat that I can take ideas from? I'm currently only using the pull panel for running lights and bilge, likely going to install a new panel (6-8) and add cabin lights, possibly a couple other features.

Currently, the wires just run along the side, under gun boxes, but they're out in the open and ugly as can be. Any suggestions/ wiring advice would be helpful. I'm an amateur when it comes to the wiring set up, I have some experience but putting the whole thing together has been a challenge.

Thanks

Tue Aug 22, 2017 7:15 am
MMT Member

Post Re: Gator Trax wiring questions/ advice
Amazon is your friend. I've helped re-wire a couple boats. It's important to use good quality wire that's made for marine applications. Blue Sea Systems makes really nice fuse blocks if you need any of those. Also Ancor will have all of the wire you need. I like to use braided wire loom instead of the crappy plastic split loom. Here are some links of stuff to check out...

I use the 14/2 duplex or 14/3 triplex wires in my GTR for accessories. What's nice is it has a dual coating to handle the weather.
https://www.amazon.com/Ancor-Marine-Gra ... ords=ancor

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004U ... UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/Blue-Sea-Systems ... ea+systems

Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:53 am
MMT Member

Thanks, any recs on switch panels?

Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:01 am
MMT Member

Also, been wondering about grounding rods. How does everyone ground in aluminum boat? Especially is stereo is added?

Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:04 am
MMT Member