It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:14 am

Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Motor Bogging down when in water????? Help Please 
MMT Member

Post Motor Bogging down when in water????? Help Please
I'm new to long tails and I bought a used one about two weeks ago. It's a backwater with a Kohler Command Pro 27hp motor. The motor was made in 2011. I recently replaced the diaphragm inside the carb and cleaned the carb and I bought a carb rebuild kit just in case I need it. But it will fire right up and seems to run strong when it's out of the water, but when I put it in the water it still fires right up and will run but but I just don't feel like it's running as strong as it's supposed to and then after about 10 minutes of running it will act like it's bogging down so I let off the throttle and it revs back up and but doesn't always take right off sometimes it will and sometimes it will bog when I give it throttle until it decides to go. And also my throttle is funky, when you push it down it stays down until you pull it back up and I also don't feel like its getting enough throttle. Could that have something to do with it?? I need some advice please guys, Teal season is right around the corner!!

I appreciate any input and all the help I can get
Thanks!!

Tue Aug 22, 2017 10:20 pm
MMT 1000 Club

Post Re: Motor Bogging down when in water????? Help Please
Still sounds like you've got a dirty carb.

Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:17 am
MMT 1000 Club

You have carb issues. Find a picture or parts diagram of the carb on your Kohler and see what you are missing, or post a picture of the carb here and let us look it over. Your throttle should not be sticking and it sounds like your carb is still dirty to me or, you have a leak in the fuel system somewhere.

BPS Swamp Staff Member
Blackwater Marine LLC.