It is currently Fri May 24, 2024 2:08 pm

Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ] 
 Need some help.. 
MMT 1000 Club

Post Need some help..
I posted this on the old site, so some may remember about my dog and the trainer. Well, i took it easy on him this past season, and he did very well by the end of the season. Ive given him a break most of the summer. What I need is how do ya'll go about starting the dog for the upcoming season? Got any tips for a guy with his first duck dog. I appreciate the help guys.

Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:57 pm
MMT Pro Member

Post Re: Need some help..
I'm a newbie here so I'm not sure what the issue was. I have a couple live ducks I keep for training. Before the season starts, I always make 'em sit and stay and watch that sucker swim around for a minute before he can go fetch it. With young dogs especially it seems like it's almost too much to resist on opening day...if you haven't done something similar they might just break on ya.

Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:47 pm
MMT Pro Member

If your dog has only one year of experience, you might want to try putting him in situations that are very similar to the real thing. Shoot some live rounds for marks. Get him in some thick stuff and let him hunt for bird/bumpers. Other than that, I always try to reinforce the most important things for me, so I repeat casting drills and steadying.

Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:28 pm
MMT 1000 Club

Find another trainer fast and drop about 4 grand into it and be finished....

Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:07 pm
MMT 1000 Club

Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:20 am
MMT Pro Member

What's he doing, or more importantly not doing?

Wed Aug 12, 2009 4:53 pm
Profile WWW
MMT 1000 Club

He just said that he's the worlds best bank retriever.....That means he doesn't do water retrieves......You have to read and comprehend what you are reading before you respond.....

Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:10 pm
MMT Elite Member

Try using live birds.

Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:26 pm
MMT Pro Member

Thu Aug 13, 2009 3:12 pm
Profile WWW
MMT 1000 Club